Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Damage [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 11/17/1998
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $24.98 $19.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Price: $7.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Machinist
  • Glengarry Glen Ross [10 Year Anniversary Special Edition] [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Nashville [Widescreen]
  • Mulholland Drive [Widescreen]
  • Memento [Limited Edition] [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Jackie Brown [2 Discs]
Adapted from Josephine Hart's spare novel by British screenwriter David Hare and French director Louis Malle, this brooding erotic drama concerns the obsessive sexual relationship between an English politician and his son's lover. Stephen Flemming (Jeremy Irons), an up-and-coming member of Parliament, has a beautiful and loving wife, Ingrid (Miranda Richardson), and two children, including son Martyn (Rupert Graves), a successsful journalist. Sparks fly, however, when Stephen meets beautiful art-world denizen Anna Barton (Juliette Binoche), Martyn's new girlfriend. A measured, seemingly passionless man who believes that life can be controlled, Stephen suddenly finds himself unable to resist brief but intense liaisons with the mysterious, melancholy Anna. Eventually she explains the palpable air of sadness that hangs over her: When she was 15, her beloved older brother committed suicide because he could not possess her. "Remember," Anna warns Stephen, "Damaged people are dangerous. They know they can survive." Drawn to Anna and the passion she engenders in him, Stephen tries to justify his betrayal by telling himself Martyn isn't serious about Anna; he is stunned, then, when the two announce their engagement. On the advice of Anna's mother (Leslie Caron), who sees right through the charade, Stephen tries to break things off. But soon the affair resumes with full force, eventually destroying several lives. Although Damage's stark, frank sex scenes were trimmed to attain an R rating for theatrical release, the original, uncut version is available on video and DVD. Richardson received an Oscar nomination for her work. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

Side #1

0. Scene Selections
1. Logos/Opening/The Flemings [4:06]
2. Meeting Anna [4:42]
3. The First Rendezvous [6:30]
4. Celebrating Martyn [5:11]
5. Getting In Deeper [7:43]
6. The Brussels And Paris [9:42]
7. Back To London, "I Have To Leave Ingrid" [6:32]
8. "Peter Is The One I'Ll Love Forever" [5:55]
9. Weekend At Hartley [3:19]
10. Anna'S Mother [14:38]
11. Stephen Lets Go [5:29]
12. Flat M, Friday 2-5 [8:14]
13. Aftermath [12:07]
14. Searching For Anna [7:58]
15. "She Was No Different From Anyone Else" [2:44]
16. End Credits [3:43]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: November 17, 1998
  • MPAA Rating: NR/R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: New Line Home Video
  • Length: 112 minutes
  • Sound: Stereo, Dolby Digital w/ sub-woofer channel (5.1)
  • Format: Letterbox
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • UPC: 794043466823
  • Product ID: 1009418
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here