Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Born on the Fourth of July [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 04/29/1998
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $26.98 $24.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Price: $3.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • GoodFellas [Widescreen]
  • Godfather DVD Collection [5 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Apollo 13 [Special Edition] [Widescreen]
  • American Beauty [Widescreen]
  • Cast Away [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Jackal
The second of three films by co-writer/director Oliver Stone to explore the effects of the Vietnam War (Platoon and Heaven and Earth are the others), Born On The Fourth Of July tells the true story of Ron Kovic (Tom Cruise), a patriotic, All-American small town athlete who shocks his family by enlisting with the Marines to fight in the Vietnam War. Once he is overseas, however, Kovic's gung-ho enthusiasm turns to horror and confusion when he accidentally kills one of his own men in a firefight. His downfall is furthered by a bullet wound that leaves him paralyzed from the chest down. He returns home, spends an appalling, nightmarish stint in a veterans' hospital, and follows an increasingly disillusioned and fragmented path that ultimately leaves him drunk and dissolute in Mexico. However, Kovic somehow turns himself around and pulls his life together, becoming an outspoken anti-war activist in the process. The film is long but emotionally powerful; many consider it Stone's best work and Cruise's best performance. Both were nominated for Oscars, as was the film itself, but only Stone, who co-wrote the film with Kovic from the latter's book, won for Best Director. ~ Don Kaye, Rovi

Chapter List

0. Chapter List
0. Menu Group #1 with 16 chapter(s) covering 02:23:59
1. The Yankee Doodle By (Main Title). [9:26]
2. The Right Decision. [7:00]
3. Vietnam. [6:27]
4. The Wrong Man. [4:40]
5. A Casualty Of War. [2:34]
6. The Veterans Hospital. [1:55]
7. Home Again. [5:19]
8. The Local Hero. [7:25]
9. Donna's World. [3:50]
10. The Wrong War. [10:12]
11. All For Nothing. [4:56]
12. Mexico. [4:48]
13. Wilson's Family. [2:18]
14. The Rebel. [7:12]
15. Maybe We're Home. [2:08]
16. End Titles. [3:31]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: April 29, 1998
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Universal Studios
  • Length: 145 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital w/ sub-woofer channel (5.1)
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: English, Spanish, French
  • Subtitles: English, Spanish
  • UPC: 025192020827
  • Product ID: 1010751
  • Genre: Drama, War

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here