Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

One True Thing [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 03/16/1999
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $14.98 $10.98

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Price: $4.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Out of Africa
  • Talented Mr. Ripley [Widescreen]
  • As Good As It Gets [Widescreen]
  • Something's Gotta Give
  • Sophie's Choice
  • Big Chill
Carl Franklin directed this family drama adapted from the 1995 novel by former ~New York Times columnist Anna Quindlen about a young woman who goes back home to take care of her dying mother. In 1987-88, independent Ellen Gulden (Renee Zellweger), a Harvard grad, is working on a ~New York Magazine investigative article when she hears from her father, George (William Hurt), a literary critic and university professor. He tells Ellen she's needed at home to care for her mother, Kate (Meryl Streep), who's due for surgery. Ellen needs to get away from the problems of her relationship with her boyfriend Jordan (Nicky Katt), but she plans to continue work on the magazine article from home. In truth, Ellen is uncomfortable with her mother's various ladies club lunches, and holiday preparations, and she finds communication with her mother awkward. Once Ellen arrives back home, she's dismayed to find herself caught in the web of her mother's Middle America activities. Ellen's attitude changes when it becomes apparent this probably will be the final Thanksgiving and Christmas with all family members present. But tensions erupt as long-buried family secrets emerge. Locations in New Jersey were used to create the film's Eastern coastal college town. Shown at the 1998 ~Montreal Film Festival. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Side #1--

0. Chapter List
1. Main Titles [:23]
2. A Normal Life [1:46]
3. Coming Home [:06]
4. Dad's Birthday [4:24]
5. Writer-To-Writer [3:17]
6. Do Ya Wanna Dance? [:48]
7. Cancer Or Career? [4:05]
8. Moving Home [3:22]
9. The New Minnie [:40]
10. My Mother's Life [2:09]
11. Dad's Secret [4:54]
12. The Pain [:44]
13. A Surprise [5:18]
14. More Is More [2:17]
15. Dad's Other Life [1:36]
16. Dinner Guests [5:10]
17. Dealing With It [1:48]
18. What Counts [:00]
19. Real Life [3:33]
20. The Next Part [3:57]
21. Happy Holidays [:20]
22. The "F" Word [4:11]
23. Kate's Decline [3:51]
24. The Deep Thoughts [5:11]
25. Let's Go Home... [2:42]
26. This Isn't Living [1:31]
27. The Last Night [4:57]
28. The Funeral [2:47]
29. My One True Thing [1:12]
30. End Titles [3:49]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: March 16, 1999
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Universal Studios
  • Length: 128 minutes
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: English, French
  • Subtitles: Spanish, English
  • UPC: 025192044021
  • Product ID: 1010825
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here