Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Midway [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 08/05/1998
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $14.99 $13.98

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Battle of the Bulge
  • Guns of Navarone [Widescreen]
  • Bridge Too Far [Widescreen]
  • Run Silent, Run Deep [Widescreen]
  • Devil's Brigade [Widescreen]
  • Hang 'em High [Widescreen]
An expensive war epic, Midway emulates The Longest Day and Tora! Tora! Tora! in attempting to re-create a famous World War II battle from both the American and Japanese viewpoints. The 1942 battle of Midway was the turning point of the War in the Pacific; the Japanese invasion fleet was destroyed, and America's string of humiliating defeats was finally broken. Though the battle itself was sufficiently dramatic to fill two films, Midway also has plotline involving the mixed-race relationship between Ensign Garth (Edward Albert), son of Navy Captain Matt Garth (Charlton Heston), and Haruko Sakura (Christina Kokubo), a Hawaiian girl of Japanese descent. The real-life personages depicted herein include American Admirals Nimitz (Henry Fonda), Halsey (Robert Mitchum) and Spruance (Glenn Ford), and Japanese Admiral Yamamoto (Toshiro Mifune, his voice once again dubbed by Paul Frees, whom Mifune personally selected for the job). For its original road show release, Midway was offered in the "Sensurround" process, which electronically shook and vibrated the audience's chairs during the battle sequences. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Side #1 -- Midway

0. Chapter Index
1. Main Title; Hiroshima April 18, 1942 [9:24]
2. Father and Son [4:01]
3. Battleship Yamato [2:59]
4. Nimitz Is Notified [3:26]
5. Operation K. [9:38]
6. Very Bad Luck [6:38]
7. A Replacement for Admiral Halsey [2:16]
8. War Room Strategy [3:43]
9. Preparing for Battle [10:19]
10. The Element of Surprise [9:35]
11. Northeast of Midway [4:56]
12. Battle Stations [6:35]
13. Dog Flight [18:19]
14. Suicide Attack [4:30]
15. The Battle in the Air [9:46]
16. Lady Luck [6:36]
17. The Tables Are Turned [5:16]
18. The Last Air Strike [4:39]
19. Victory and Defeat [6:37]
20. End Credits [2:02]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: August 05, 1998
  • MPAA Rating: PG
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Universal Studios
  • Length: 131 minutes
  • Sound: Monaural, Dolby Digital w/ sub-woofer channel (5.1)
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 014381429220
  • Product ID: 1010886
  • Genre: War

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here