Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Secret Agent

Format: DVD     Release Date: 07/24/1999
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $6.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • 39 Steps [Special Edition]
  • Farmer's Wife
  • Sixth Sense [Widescreen]
  • Dark City
  • Manxman [Special Edition]
  • Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me [Widescreen]
Based on the novels of W. Somerset Maugham, The Secret Agent is the second in a trilogy of Alfred Hitchcock spy movies (along with The 39 Steps and Sabotage). Set during WWI, John Gielgud plays British novelist Edgar Brodie who discovers that a government agency has faked his own death. He is then given orders to go to Switzerland to kill a German agent. He goes by the name of Richard Ashenden and travels with secret agent Elsa Carrington (Madeleine Carroll), who poses as his wife. Richard joins professional killer the General (Peter Lorre) to look for clues, which leads them to suspect the tourist Caypor (Percy Marmont). Elsa occupies Caypor's wife, Florence Kahn, while Richard and the General attempt to complete their mission during a climbing trip in the Alps. It turns out he was the wrong man, so the spies reluctantly start another search for clues that leads them to the American charmer Robert Marvin (Robert Young). Unfortunately, he has just boarded a train to Greece with Elsa, so they have to get onboard and warn her. The situation is complicated with an air attack, where several key players meet their fate. The Secret Agent marked a rare instance where Hitchcock was pressured into changing the ending from the more grim original. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Opening Credits [1:22]
2. Presumed Dead [3:46]
3. A New Identity [3:10]
4. Ashenden Arrives in Scotland [3:01]
5. Mrs. Ashenden [8:22]
6. Mr. Ashenden Is Trailed [2:55]
7. A Dead Body [7:12]
8. At the Casino [2:57]
9. The Agents Meet Mr. Caypor [10:33]
10. Death at the Observatory [4:06]
11. An Important Message [4:32]
12. Back at the Hotel [8:58]
13. At the Chocolate Factory [2:14]
14. Police Is Informed of the Spies [3:00]
15. The Agents Escape From the Factory [4:01]
16. Mrs. Ashenden & Marvin Leave the Hotel [1:41]
17. Identity Revealed [11:25]
18. Train Crashes [1:36]
19. Conclusion [:58]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: July 24, 1999
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Region: All
  • Studio: Delta
  • Length: 92 minutes
  • Format: Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: Spanish, Japanese
  • UPC: 018111998130
  • Product ID: 1012992
  • Genre: Spy Film

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here