Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Farewell, My Concubine [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 12/14/1999
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $9.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Wings of Desire [Special Edition]
  • Nashville [Widescreen]
  • Glengarry Glen Ross [10 Year Anniversary Special Edition] [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Topsy-Turvy
  • Elephant Man [Widescreen]
  • Postino
Until Farewell, My Concubine (Ba Wang Bie Ji), not many people were aware that most members of the Peking Opera were originally orphans or illegitimate castaways with nowhere else to turn. Such is the case of the film's protagonists, Duan Xiaolou (Zhang Fengyi) and Cheng Dieyi (Leslie Cheung), two homeless outcasts, trained from childhood in the grueling rigors of the Opera by master Lu Qui. The film traces the 52-year friendship between Xiaolou and Dieyi, a friendship pockmarked with fiery conflicts and tender reconciliations. Though the delicate Dieyi specializes in female roles and the gutsy Xiaolou plays noble warriors, theirs is an essentially heterosexual relationship; still, when Xiaolou takes upon himself a prostitute bride (the magnificent Gong Li), Dieyi is as petty and jealous as an outcast mistress. Farewell, My Concubine holds the viewer in thrall from start to finish; as such, it is thoroughly deserving of its many international film awards and nominations. Surprisingly, this worldwide success was something of a flop in its home country of China; perhaps it hit too close to home for those viewers who'd lived through the same years so painstakingly recreated in the film. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Side #1

0. Chapter Selections
1. Opening Credits [:31]
2. From The Brothel [5:39]
3. By Nature A Boy [6:12]
4. The Price Of Fame [7:48]
5. Performing For Zhang [9:26]
6. A Determined Fate [8:24]
7. Master Yuan [5:34]
8. A Special Day [10:23]
9. An Engaged Woman [5:53]
10. Most Intimate Friends [10:31]
11. To Save Xiaolou [7:26]
12. Forget The Opera [9:49]
13. The Old Master [3:27]
14. A Show Of Force [8:50]
15. Cheng's Trial [7:28]
16. The People's Anger [11:56]
17. Modern Opera [12:31]
18. Out With The Old Society [10:25]
19. Betrayal [12:11]
20. Farewell [7:51]
21. End Credits [6:34]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: December 14, 1999
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Miramax
  • Length: 172 minutes
  • Sound: Stereo
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 717951002723
  • Product ID: 1013484
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here