Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Little Mermaid [Limited Issue] [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 12/07/1999
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $34.99 $29.98

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs [2 Discs]
  • Mulan [Widescreen]
  • Aladdin [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • Tarzan
  • 101 Dalmatians
  • Matrix [Widescreen] (1999)
Disney's The Little Mermaid was the first in a series of blockbusters that restored the venerable firm's reputation as the world's premiere animated-feature factory. The title character is a precocious teenager named Ariel, the daughter of Triton, king of the Sea. Against her dad's wishes, Ariel journeys beyond her own world to the surface, where she falls in love with Prince Eric, a handsome human. Foolishly, the little mermaid enters into an agreement with evil sea witch Ursula in order to become human herself. The wistfully melancholy ending of the original Hans Christian Andersen story is dispensed with in favor of a joyously happy ending-but not before a spectacular climactic confrontation between Ursula and Triton. The obligatory Disney comic relief is handled by such freshly minted characters as Sebastian the Crab, who, courtesy of voiceover artist Samuel E. Wright, sings the film's Oscar-winning "Under the Sea." Other voices are provided by Broadway star Jodi Benson (as Ariel) and such Hollywood reliables as Buddy Hackett, Pat Carroll, Kenneth Mars, and Rene Auberjonois. The enormous box-office take of The Little Mermaid made possible such future Disney cartoon ventures as Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, Pocahontas, and The Hunchback of Notre Dame. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- The Little Mermaid

1. Tales of the Merpeople in the "Fathoms Below"
2. Main Titles
3. A Concert in King Triton's Court
4. Ariel at the Sunken Ship
5. Scuttle
6. Ursula Keeps Watch on Ariel
7. Ariel's Grotto ("Part of Your World")
8. Ariel Swims to the Surface
9. Storm at Sea
10. Eric Is Saved ("Part of Your World" Reprise)
11. "Under the Sea"
12. Sebastian's Audience With King Triton
13. Triton Discovers Ariel's Hidden Treasure
14. Ursula's Lair
15. "Poor Unfortunate Souls"
16. Ursula's Deal
17. In Eric's Kingdom
18. Dinner in the Castle
19. Meanwhile, in the Kitchen ("Les Poissons")
20. Eric Takes Ariel on a Tour of the Kingdom
21. "Kiss the Girl"
22. Ursula Takes Matters Into Her Own Tentacles
23. The Wedding Ship Departs
24. Sunset on the Third Day
25. Ursula's Wrath
26. Happy Ending
27. End Credits ("Under the Sea")
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: December 07, 1999
  • MPAA Rating: G
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Walt Disney Video
  • Length: 83 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1
  • Format: Letterbox
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: English, French, Spanish
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 717951005861
  • Product ID: 1013588
  • Genre: Children's/Family, Fantasy

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here