Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

In Country

Format: DVD     Release Date: 07/27/1999
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $5.99

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Price: $1.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Ref
  • Cooler
  • Strange Days [Widescreen]
  • Grosse Pointe Blank [Widescreen]
  • Space Cowboys
  • Wild Things
Norman Jewison directed this subdued character study of the effect of the Vietnam War on a small-town Kentucky family -- based on the novel by Bobbi Ann Mason. The film centers upon 17-year-old Samantha (Emily Lloyd) who lives in Hopewell, Kentucky with her Uncle Emmett (Bruce Willis), a quiet, laid-back veteran of Vietnam suffering from post-traumatic stress. Samantha's father was killed in Vietnam when he was 19-years-old (almost her age now), and her mother Irene (Joan Allen) has remarried. Samantha finds some old photographs of her father, and she becomes obsessed with finding out more about him. Irene, who has moved to Lexington with her second husband, wants Samantha to move in with them and go to college. But Samantha would rather stay with Uncle Emmett and try to find out more about her father. Her mother is no help, as she tells Samantha, "Honey, I married him four weeks before he left for the war. He was 19. I hardly even remember him." Finally Samantha, Emmett and her grandmother (Peggy Rea) go to visit the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington. Finding her father's name in the memorial releases cathartic emotions in Samantha and her family. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Side #1

0. Jump To A Scene
1. The Chosen [3:03]
2. Sam's graduation [3:30]
3. Breakfast with the boys (I'm on Fire) [4:05]
4. In a mood (High Rollin') [2:59]
5. White birds [1:38]
6. A secret shoebox [4:20]
7. Letters: "The world's a dream" [5:45]
8. Emmett's climactic event [5:50]
9. Mamaw and Granpaw visit [4:07]
10. "You never knew me." [3:46]
11. Anita's advice (I'm on Fire) [2:58]
12. Emmett's checkup [3:24]
13. "You weren't there" [3:18]
14. The dance (Dedicated to the One I Love, Baby, I Need Your Loving, What the World [4:09]
15. Dancing shoes (Danicng in the Street) [2:41]
16. Heated words ((Waltz me) Once Again Around the Dance Floor) [2:16]
17. A Night with Tom (ain't Misbehavin') [5:40]
18. Returning a gift (Gone but Not Forgotten, It'll Be Easier in the Morning) [4:07]
19. Irene visits [4:20]
20. Mother/daugther talk [3:01]
21. Major purchase-and major heartache [4:35]
22. Memories over a meal [3:46]
23. Night ambush [7:24]
24. Emmett's open wound [5:17]
25. The road to DC [1:39]
26. Sam's decision [2:30]
27. Vietnam Veterns Memorial [3:22]
28. Touching the past [5:24]
29. Almost there; End Credits [6:10]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: July 27, 1999
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Warner Home Video
  • Length: 120 minutes
  • Sound: Stereo, Dolby Digital w/ sub-woofer channel (5.1)
  • Format: Pan & Scan
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • UPC: 085391188827
  • Product ID: 1014439
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here