Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Women of Brewster Place

Format: DVD     Release Date: 02/03/2001
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $12.98 $9.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Price: $3.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Lean on Me
  • Romeo Must Die [Widescreen]
  • Next Friday [Widescreen]
  • Claudine
  • Brothers [Widescreen]
  • Higher Learning [Widescreen]
Based on the novel by Gloria Naylor, The Women of Brewster Place was produced by and stars Oprah Winfrey. The film concerns a variety of women who live in the housing project located on Brewster Place, and tells about their lives as they struggle in the face of racism, poverty, and troublesome men. Winfrey portrays Mattie Michael who was kicked out of her parent's (Paul Winfield and Mary Alice) house after refusing to reveal the name of her soon-to-be-born child's father. She eventually inherits a house, but loses it after her son skips bail. Robin Givens plays Kiswana, a focused woman who does her best to improve the situations of those around her. During a conversation with her mother (Cicely Tyson), Kiswana learns how her decision to change her name from Melanie is a betrayal of her family history. Cora Lee (Phyllis Stickney) craves being needed by babies and continues to have children, although she becomes neglectful as her children age. Miss Sophie (Olivia Cole) traffics in neighborhood gossip. Theresa and Lorraine (Paula Kelly and Lonette McKee) are a lesbian couple who live on Brewster Place because they believe the people in the neighborhood might let them live in peace. The Women of Brewster Place aired March 18-19, 1989, on the @ABC television network. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Opening Credits [2:18]
2. First Day [10:55]
3. Papa Don't Preach [11:19]
4. Miss Eva [11:29]
5. Basil Bailed Out [8:50]
6. Brewster Beginnings [9:37]
7. Opportunities [1:36]
8. Kids Running Wild [8:34]
9. Gods and Mothers [11:41]
10. Nothing But Trouble [1:40]
11. Mysterious Ways [8:11]
12. Worldly Women [8:22]
13. Main Arteries [11:37]
14. Tenants Meeting [6:30]
15. Block Party [16:10]
16. Breaking Through [12:15]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: February 03, 2001
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Xenon
  • Length: 180 minutes
  • Sound: Stereo
  • Discs: 1
  • UPC: 000799109229
  • Product ID: 2040477
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here