Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Salvador [Special Edition] [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 06/05/2001
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $14.98 $10.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Price: $2.97

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Talented Mr. Ripley [Widescreen]
  • Unbreakable [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • Miller's Crossing
  • Syriana [Widescreen]
  • About Schmidt
  • American Beauty [Widescreen]
While Salvador wasn't Oliver Stone's first film (a pair of offbeat horror stories preceded it), it defined his style of fiercely dramatic, politically oriented filmmaking, staked out his territory as one of the major directors of the 1980s and 1990s, and remains one of his strongest works to date. Veteran photojournalist Richard Boyle (James Woods) has been taking his camera to the world's trouble spots for over 20 years; while he does good work, Boyle's fondness for booze and drugs, and his colossal arrogance, have given him a reputation that's left him practically unemployable. Broke and with no immediate prospects, Boyle and his buddy Doctor Rock (Jim Belushi), an out-of-work disc jockey, head to El Salvador, where Boyle is convinced that he can scare up some lucrative freelance work amidst the nation's political turmoil. However, when Boyle and Rock witness the execution of a student by government troops just as they enter the country, it becomes clear that this war is more serious than they were expecting. Increasingly convinced that El Salvador is a disaster starting to happen, Boyle eventually decides that it's time to get out; but he has fallen in love with a woman named Maria (Elpidia Carrillo), and he doesn't want to leave her behind. James Woods gives one of his best performances as Boyle; and the passion of Stone's message, aided by the power of its truth (the film is based on actual events), propels the film forward. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Side #1

0. Scene Selection
1. Logos/Credits/Busted [:16]
2. "Running On Empty" [1:49]
3. Salvadorian Welcome [4:10]
4. "My Amigo!" [3:21]
5. "You're The Only One" [:05]
6. "There Is No Money!" [7:02]
7. Death Squad Dump Site [:31]
8. Casualties Of War [1:55]
9. Political Party [4:47]
10. "Major Max" [1:08]
11. Bribing His Way Out [2:23]
12. Going To The Top [2:36]
13. "Stop The Repression!" [2:35]
14. Dangerous Propaganda [:56]
15. "I Love It Here!" [6:42]
16. "Pistol-Packing Nuns?" [5:04]
17. The Rebel Army [:47]
18. Pictures Don't Lie [4:31]
19. Getting The Story [:09]
20. Becoming Your Enemy [5:14]
21. "I Got The Shot!" [7:38]
22. "Get Out Of Here!" [:54]
23. Exposed At The Border [4:47]
24. No Exit/End Credits [1:49]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: June 05, 2001
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: MGM
  • Length: 123 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1
  • Formats: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9), Pan & Scan
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: French, Spanish, English
  • UPC: 027616862822
  • Product ID: 2046607
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here