Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Vatel [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 08/07/2001
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $19.99 $14.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Price: $49.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Never on Sunday
  • Cell [Widescreen]
  • Dangerous Liaisons [Widescreen]
  • Heaven's Gate [Widescreen]
  • Richard III [Widescreen]
  • House of Sand and Fog
A man hoping to win the favor of a King finds that his heart has gotten in the way in this lavishly-produced comedy-drama. In 1671, the Prince du Conde (Julian Glover) is a figure of French nobility who is deep in debt and suffering from gout. Hoping to buoy his fortunes and his reputation, du Conde wants to win command of the French Army in an anticipated conflict with Holland. When du Conde receives word from the Marquis de Lauzun (Tim Roth) that that King Louis XIV (Julian Sands) wishes to spend three days at his estate, du Conde is determined to pull out all the stops, and he asks Francois Vatel (Gerard Depardieu) to make the arrangements. Vatel is a master chef with a genius for arranging spectacular entertainments, and he is determined that this will be a weekend that the king will always remember. But that's before Vatel meets Anne de Montausier (Uma Thurman), a lovely courtesan traveling with the king's party. Anne is the king's new mistress, but that doesn't stop Vatel from falling in love with her, and he is determined to win her heart. Produced in both English and French language versions, Vatel was chosen to open the 2000 Cannes Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Side #1 --

0. Chapter Selections
1. Opening/Royal Visit [7:46]
2. "Nothing On Credit!" [2:08]
3. No Boys From The Kitchen [2:57]
4. "The Princess Has Been Bitten By A Monkey" [2:15]
5. For The Betterment Of France [3:38]
6. Object Of My Affection [2:42]
7. "Flesh And Blood" [7:20]
8. Mercy Of The King [6:10]
9. Harmony And Contrast [5:36]
10. Pleasure Deprivation [4:35]
11. The Power To Create [:09]
12. Thoughtful Mistress [5:59]
13. Intimate Honor [2:55]
14. Better Bird [2:49]
15. "Bring Me Vate!" [3:04]
16. Man At Stake [7:07]
17. Thoughts Of War [4:17]
18. True Friend [4:39]
19. Last Magnificent Banquet [9:44]
20. Blame It On The Fish [6:47]
21. End Credits [4:09]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: August 07, 2001
  • MPAA Rating: PG13
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Miramax
  • Length: 103 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • UPC: 786936145083
  • Product ID: 2070148
  • Genre: Historical Film

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here