Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Opera [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 09/11/2001
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $14.98 $10.98

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Scanners [Widescreen]
  • Brood
  • Creepshow [Widescreen]
  • Near Dark [Special Edition] [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Mulholland Drive [Widescreen]
  • Legend [Ultimate Edition] [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
The polar-opposite worlds of opera and horror collide in this gory giallo film from director Dario Argento. Christina Marsillach (Tom Hanks' romantic interest in Every Time We Say Goodbye) stars as Betty, a beautiful understudy who gets an unlikely break to play the female lead in a contemporary opera of Verdi's +Macbeth. Her fear of Macbeth's notorious curse proves to have foundation when a psychopath with a strange connection to Betty murders a stage hand in the midst of her debut and later kills several ravens being used in the opera. Characters introduced at this point who could be the killer include: the show's director, Marco (Ian Charleson); Betty's publicist, Mira (Daria Nicolodi); and the police inspector, Alan Santini (Urbano Barberini). The middle third of the film is devoted to the killer's bloody work which serves to torment Betty. The madman binds her and tapes a row of tiny needles beneath her eyes so that she is forced to watch him butcher a young stage manager and a costume designer, among others. With the police investigation going nowhere and the killer zeroing in on Betty's death, Marco decides to enact his own plan to stop the madman; he releases the ravens (apparently, they always remember their enemies) during a performance. The birds circle wildly before attacking the killer and plucking one of his eyeballs out. He absconds with Betty, but dies in a fire after revealing his demented motivation and his connection to the young singer. A final scene set in the Swiss mountains provides a couple of final shocks. ~ Patrick Legare, Rovi

Side #1 --

0. Chapter Selections
1. Program Start/Main Titles [3:14]
2. The Ingenue [5:01]
3. Ominous Overture [3:30]
4. Command Performance [5:09]
5. Rising Star [5:11]
6. Beauty And The Blade [1:43]
7. Cries Of The Ravens [4:27]
8. Witness To Slaughter [4:57]
9. Lost In The Storm [3:12]
10. Strangers In The Hall [4:19]
11. "Don'T Cry, Betty" [2:51]
12. Suspicion [4:52]
13. Costume Repair [3:45]
14. Shear Horror [5:31]
15. "He Makes Me Watch" [5:02]
16. Lights Out [4:02]
17. Peephole [2:52]
18. Self-Defense [3:18]
19. In The Air Vents [4:19]
20. No Escape [3:25]
21. What Dreams May Come... [2:13]
22. Aria Of Terror [1:23]
23. "Just Like Your Mother" [:57]
24. Inferno [3:13]
25. "Run, For God'S Sake!" [3:40]
26. Free [4:25]
27. End Credits [4:37]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: September 11, 2001
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Anchor Bay
  • Length: 107 minutes
  • Sound: dd-ex, Dolby Digital Surround, dts-esd
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 013131185393
  • Product ID: 2097706
  • Genre: Horror, Thriller

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here