Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Red Beard [Criterion Collection] [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 07/16/2002
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $39.95 $29.98

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Price: $14.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Throne of Blood [Criterion Collection]
  • Seven Samurai [Criterion Collection]
  • Hidden Fortress [Criterion Collection] [Widescreen]
  • Rififi [Criterion Collection]
  • Spellbound [Criterion Collection]
  • Kagemusha [Criterion Collection] [2 Discs]
In 1820, young Noboru Yasumoto (Yuzo Kayama) completes his medical education in Nagasaki and returns to his native Edo hoping both to marry the daughter of a wealthy man and to achieve affluence himself through his medical practice. He happens to visit the famed Koishikawa clinic for the indigent, which is run by the autocratic Dr. Kyojo Niide (Toshiro Mifune), better known as Red Beard. To his intense displeasure, he soon finds himself assigned to the clinic for his internship. At first, the young intern is arrogant and rebellious, intent on displaying his knowledge of medical innovations and contemptuous of the older doctor for spending his life among the poor. But as time passes, he gains an intimate knowledge of the kind of suffering that is endemic to the impoverished, and at length, becomes an acolyte of this seemingly dictatorial physician, who heals his patients with gentleness and humility as much as with his medical skill. ~ Michael Costello, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Yasumoto's Arrival
2. Red Beard
3. Dr. Mori
4. The Mantis
5. "I'll Break Every Rule!"
6. Osugi Chastises Yasumoto
7. Lecture
8. "Please Help Me "
9. Symphony
10. A Doctor's Philosophy
11. "Don't Look Away!"
12. Rokusuke's Death
13. Sahachi Falls Ill
14. Okuni's Sad Tale
15. Concern for Sahachi
16. Blackmail
17. Sahachi's Secret
18. Onaka's Return
19. Sahachi's Confession
20. Yasumoto Dons the Uniform
21. House Call
22. The Brothel
23. Fight
24. Otoyo Is Rescued
25. Intermission
26. Yasumoto Tends to Otoyo
27. Otoyo Learns Kindness
28. Yasumoto Falls Ill
29. Otoyo Cares for Yasumoto
30. Otoyo's Broken Heart
31. A Little Thief
32. Ghobo's Story
33. Suicide
34. Otoyo's New Life
35. Yasumoto Sees the Light
36. Chobo Shames His Family
37. The Wedding Ceremony
38. A New Beginning
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: July 16, 2002
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Studio: Criterion
  • Length: 185 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Formats: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9), Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: Japanese
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 037429168820
  • Product ID: 2172774
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here