Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Eddy Duchin Story [Widescreen]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 07/16/2002
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $19.99 $14.98

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea [2 Discs]
  • 1776 [Widescreen]
  • Indiscreet
  • Dinner at Eight
  • Heiress
  • Marathon Man [Widescreen]
Tyrone Power stars in this tear-jerking biography of the beloved but short-lived pianist and bandleader Eddy Duchin. Boston-born Eddy Duchin (Tyrone Power) moves to New York City to pursue a career as a pharmacist. However, Eddy is also a skilled piano player, and when he meets pretty socialite Marjorie Oelrichs (Kim Novak) who hears him play, she encourages him not to short-change his musical abilities. Marjorie helps get Eddy a job playing at the Central Park Casino; his playing goes over well with the crowd, and Eddy goes over well with Marjorie. Able to support himself full-time with his music, Eddy asks Marjorie for her hand in marriage; she accepts, and soon Marjorie is expecting a child. Tragically, she dies while giving birth to their son Peter; Eddy, shattered by the experience, finds himself unconsciously blaming Peter for Marjorie's passing, and leaves the boy behind with his family and their nanny, Chiquita (Victoria Shaw), while Eddy and his manager Lou Sherwood (James Whitmore) head out for the first of many lengthy world tours. Years later, while serving in the Navy during World War II, Eddy realizes the error of his ways, and begins a long and difficult reconciliation with Peter (Rex Thompson), while falling in love with Chiquita. Eddy and Chiquita marry and budding pianist Peter joins Eddy on stage for an emotional duet; however, Eddy's new contentment with life is cut short when he contracts leukemia. Pianist Carmen Cavallaro dubbed in Duchin's piano parts for non-musician Tyrone Power. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Start [4:00]
2. Leo Reisman & Lou Sherwood [3:53]
3. A Distinctive Style [5:03]
4. Intermission Music [3:01]
5. Marjorie Oelrichs Interiors [3:25]
6. 10 Magic Fingers [3:33]
7. A Classy Party [6:49]
8. "Dizzy Fingers" [2:18]
9. Marriage Proposals [3:46]
10. A Gold Key [2:33]
11. Dancing With Mrs. D. [1:46]
12. "Wind Frightens Me." [3:43]
13. "You're My Everything" [4:26]
14. A Little Tired Tonight [7:36]
15. End of an Era [1:36]
16. Five Years on Tour [1:24]
17. Peter [3:20]
18. "Chopsticks" [7:17]
19. Homecoming [4:48]
20. Peter's Surprise [3:53]
21. Rude & Tactless [2:03]
22. Rehearsal Hall D [4:15]
23. "Brazil" [5:14]
24. Shelter From the Storm [6:59]
25. Jabber Jabber [3:37]
26. Unfortunate Prognosis [4:07]
27. Telling Peter [8:53]
28. Music by Duchin [4:49]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: July 16, 2002
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Columbia TriStar
  • Length: 122 minutes
  • Sound: dd3.0
  • Formats: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9), Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French
  • UPC: 043396078673
  • Product ID: 2177718
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here