Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Citizen Ruth

Format: DVD     Release Date: 04/08/2003
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $9.99

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Price: $5.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • As Good As It Gets [Widescreen]
  • Nashville [Widescreen]
  • Hard Eight [Widescreen]
  • Lone Star [Widescreen]
  • Taxi Driver [Collector's Edition] [Widescreen]
  • Shopgirl
The divisive issue of abortion is at the center of Citizen Ruth, a political satire that attempts to subject both pro-choice and pro-life forces to equal ridicule. Laura Dern portrays Ruth Stoops, an irresponsible, unemployed woman who's addicted to inhaling household chemicals and has becomes pregnant, for the fifth time. After she is arrested for substance abuse, the judge offers to lessen her sentence if Ruth chooses to abort her child. Ruth agrees, but that night she encounters a group of pro-life activists. They take her under their wing, promising to help her, while secretly planning to make her case public as a symbol for the pro-life movement . When Ruth discovers the deception, she takes refuge with a pro-choice group, sparking a media frenzy. Yet Ruth soon finds her new friends are also only interested in her value as a media icon. Realizing she has been used as a pawn in the abortion rights battle, the apolitical Ruth turns the tables, offering to join whoever will give her the best deal. What results is a frantic, comedic session of wheeling-dealing which argues that activists on both sides have become more concerned with waging political warfare than helping women. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Opening Credits: Nowhere to Go [6:17]
2. Waking the Tin Man [3:36]
3. Sorry! [3:23]
4. A Call to God [3:12]
5. Clean and Pretty [5:15]
6. An Old Familiar Sound [3:44]
7. "Party?" [2:31]
8. Right as Rain [6:58]
9. It's Them [3:31]
10. Car! [3:39]
11. The Devil Inside [5:18]
12. This Is a War [5:13]
13. Clash by Night [5:36]
14. Moon Mother [4:02]
15. National Alert [6:03]
16. Charitable Offers [4:54]
17. The Outrage of It All [2:46]
18. Eric's Story [5:36]
19. Rising Action [5:32]
20. Ruth Sees a Way [5:06]
21. Tanya on the Move [4:35]
22. God Calls Back [5:02]
23. End Credits [3:29]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: April 08, 2003
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Miramax
  • Length: 105 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Surround
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: English, French
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 717951005243
  • Product ID: 2210634
  • Genre: Comedy

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here