Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

New World

Format: DVD     Release Date: 02/17/2004
Buy New

Availability: Limited quantity

Price: $14.98 $10.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Price: $1.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Good Girl
  • Lost in Translation [Widescreen]
  • Others [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Kids
  • Hart's War [Widescreen/Full Screen]
  • Swimming Pool [Unrated]
A young boy who worships all things American comes of age in this amiable French melodrama set in Orleans where over 14,000 American GIs were stationed. The film opens with the solemn vow between young Patrick and Marie-Jose that they will both head to the US when they grow up. The children are totally obsessed with American culture and even surreptitiously go through the gringo garbage to find things such as old magazines, clothing, and empty packages. Years pass and the two friends are seen as lusty 16-year olds. Patrick finds himself feeling smothered by Marie-Jose and ends up falling for the vivacious blonde Yankee coquette, Trudy. He lives to go to the military base where he can hear the live jazz he is so crazy about. Soon his studies begin to suffer. On base, Patrick is befriended by a clumsy but kindly sergeant who buys him a drum kit so he can play with the jazz quintet when it entertains the troops. But when Patrick gets a chance to play drums at an out-of-town concert, his father forbids it, causing his son to rebel. Tragedy ensues. ~ Sandra Brennan, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Main Titles/France, 1951 [5:41]
2. "Us Two, Nothing Else" [5:05]
3. 16 Years Old [3:21]
4. American Beauty [3:57]
5. Fight Club [14:00]
6. The Ugly American [12:12]
7. Games People Play [9:05]
8. All That Jazz [9:46]
9. "God Is Mad at Me" [6:30]
10. Cutting a 33 [5:40]
11. Mourning Augustus [5:28]
12. Frogs and Trudy [6:00]
13. "Welcome to USA" [5:09]
14. Tragedies [11:47]
15. Last Chance Dance [3:38]
16. Saving Marie [3:37]
17. "We're the Martians" [2:35]
18. End Credits [3:53]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: February 17, 2004
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Live/Artisan
  • Length: 117 minutes
  • Sound: Stereo
  • Format: Pan & Scan
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitle: Spanish
  • UPC: 012236147695
  • Product ID: 2292787
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here