Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X
Unfinished Piece for the Player Piano

Unfinished Piece for the Player Piano

Format: DVD     Release Date: 07/20/2004
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $29.99 $23.98

add to wishlist

A dacha is a summer home for Russians, away from the hurly-burly of the city, and can be as primitive as a cabin or as elaborate as a palace. A much-favored place for gatherings of intellectuals, dachas are a favored literary setting. In this film, adapted by Nikita Mikhailkov from Anton Chekhov's first play and some of his other works, the schoolteacher Platonov (Alexander Kalyagin) has come with his wife to spend a summer weekend at a friend's dacha. Among the other guests there, he meets his former lady-love Sophia (Elena Solovei), who is now married to another. Even though he thought he had recovered from his disappointed affection for her, he finds that this is not so for at least two reasons. First, she only recently got married; secondly, she is married to an idiot. Nostalgia spurs them to investigate their affection for one another, but eventually, as they remember their stations in life, their old love does not seem so important. In the middle of the night, Platonov is overtaken by grief over his lost youth and lost loves, and he awakens the entire household with his cries. Everyone returns to bed soon after, and by the morning all is forgiven, or forgotten, as the guests prepare to return to their lives in the city. ~ Clarke Fountain, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Chess [7:48]
2. The Platonovs [5:09]
3. Ivan Ivanovich [4:42]
4. Sophia Yegorovna [6:38]
5. Pavel Petrovich [6:11]
6. Mikhail and Sophia [6:31]
7. Two in a Hammock [5:43]
8. Surprise [6:10]
9. Forfeits [5:25]
10. Cerk Gorokhov [2:54]
11. Gerasim Kuzmich [2:47]
12. Dinner Debates [5:44]
13. Platonov's Story [6:15]
14. Deceived Husband [5:42]
15. Porfiry Semyonovich [6:09]
16. Epilogue [5:28]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: July 20, 2004
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Region: All
  • Studio: Image Entertainment
  • Length: 103 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: rus, English, French
  • Subtitles: rus, English, French, German, Spanish, Italian
  • UPC: 014381063820
  • Product ID: 2426607
  • Genre: Drama, Romance

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here