Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Boston Strangler

Format: DVD     Release Date: 09/07/2004
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $9.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Blow Out [Widescreen]
  • Cool Hand Luke
  • Marathon Man [Widescreen]
  • Falling Down [Widescreen]
  • Jackie Brown [2 Discs]
  • Rosemary's Baby [Widescreen]
The Boston Strangler adopts the split-screen technique then in vogue (see also The Thomas Crown Affair) to relate the true story of self-confessed mass murderer Albert DeSalvo. Adapted by Edward Anhalt from the book by Gerold Frank, the film covers the years 1962 to 1964, during which time a dozen women were raped and murdered in the Boston area. State-appointed officer John Bottomly (Henry Fonda) arrests as many known sex offenders as he can get his hands on in hopes of finding a clue as to the Boston Strangler's identity. As these things often happen, the police come across the necessary evidence through pure luck. Well-played by Tony Curtis (whose makeup is startling), DeSalvo himself does not appear until an hour into the film. When caught, the schizophrenic DeSalvo insists that he knows nothing of the murders. Under interrogation and hypnosis, his homicidal impulses are exposed. Meticulously cast, The Boston Strangler offers excellent vignettes by Sally Kellerman as the Strangler's only surviving victim and by Hurd Hatfield as an erudite sex pervert. When Boston Strangler was first shown on TV in 1974, a voice-over coda was added, noting that Albert DeSalvo was stabbed to death in prison on November 26, 1973, and that many experts were convinced that he was not the killer but that his confessions were the product of a delusional mind. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Main Titles [:10]
2. First Victims [2:51]
3. Early Inquiries [:49]
4. The Roundup [3:50]
5. Useless Precautions [3:44]
6. New Job [6:16]
7. A Different M.O. [2:16]
8. A Tip [2:33]
9. Messianic Delusions [3:18]
10. Strange Hobby [1:39]
11. Psychic [1:21]
12. The Wrong Man [6:45]
13. Psychology Student [:21]
14. The Wrong Man [3:00]
15. Number Eleven [5:17]
16. The One That Got Away [:31]
17. Captured [7:42]
18. Matching Data [1:01]
19. A Visitor [4:02]
20. Trying to Remember [:54]
21. Talking to the Doctor [1:45]
22. A Small Step [2:00]
23. Late Night Musings [2:56]
24. The Memoires Stir [5:03]
25. Reenactment/End Titles [1:29]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: September 07, 2004
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: 20th Century Fox
  • Length: 116 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo, dd1
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: English, French, Spanish
  • Subtitles: English, Spanish
  • UPC: 024543119982
  • Product ID: 2446030
  • Genre: Crime

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here