Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Fat Girl [Widescreen] [Criterion Collection]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 10/19/2004
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $29.95 $22.98

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Price: $10.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Band of Outsiders [Criterion Collection]
  • Man Bites Dog [Criterion Collection] [Widescreen]
  • Strada [2 Discs] [Criterion Collection]
  • 8 1/2 [Criterion Collection] [2 Discs]
  • Insomnia [Criterion Collection]
  • Rules of the Game [Criterion Collection] [2 Discs]
Director Catherine Breillat, who courted international controversy with her film Romance, once again pushed the envelope with this disturbing (if somewhat less explicit) look at adolescent sexuality. Anaïs (Anaïs Reboux) is a 12-year-old girl with a weight problem and a downbeat disposition growing up in a family which offers her little in the way of understanding and affection. Anaïs has a typically adolescent love/hate relationship with her slimmer and prettier 15-year-old sister, Elena (Roxane Mesquida); she's at once fascinated by her sister (and the boys who follow her around), and hates her for the love and attention she receives from others. While the family spends the summer at the beach, Elena attracts the attentions of Fernando (Libero de Rienzo), a college student from Italy who makes no secret of his attraction to Elena's budding sexuality. Anaïs, on the other hand, is forced to make do with a sad game in which she pretends that a ladder and a diving board at a neighborhood swimming pool are two suitors vying for her affections. Anaïs shares a room with Elena, and finds herself a fascinated, if troubled, witness as Fernando uses both charm and deceit to rob her sister of her virginity, while Elena is too naïve to see through the lies Fernando is spinning -- and enjoys having Anaïs as an audience for her steadily advancing sex play with Fernando. Anaïs is more aware than her older sister of Fernando's insincerity, but she finds Elena isn't eager to believe her. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Logos/Opening Credits [1:28]
2. Elena and Anaïs [1:57]
3. At the Café [5:09]
4. Meeting the Parents [2:05]
5. In the Pool [2:57]
6. Proof of Love [19:22]
7. Getting Caught [6:27]
8. "Vacations Suck" [5:37]
9. The Same Dress [1:55]
10. At the Beach [4:20]
11. Secrets Between Sisters [7:21]
12. "Trust Me" [2:36]
13. Sexual Issues [2:03]
14. An Awkward Situation [2:45]
15. The Drive Home [4:32]
16. A Pit Stop [4:24]
17. Rest Area [8:40]
18. End Credits [2:38]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: October 19, 2004
  • MPAA Rating:
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Criterion
  • Length: 86 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Stereo
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: French
  • Subtitle: English
  • UPC: 037429197721
  • Product ID: 2456547
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here