Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Barkleys of Broadway

Format: DVD     Release Date: 08/16/2005
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $19.98 $14.98

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Funny Girl
  • Shall We Dance
  • Meet Me in St. Louis [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • Memento [Limited Edition] [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Philadelphia Story [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • Oliver! [Widescreen]
The Barkleys of Broadway became Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers' "reunion" picture purely by accident. Originally conceived as a follow-up to the successful Astaire-Judy Garland vehicle Easter Parade, Barkleys was to have starred Fred and Judy as a successful musical comedy team that breaks up when the female half decides to become a "serious" artist. Just before shooting started, Garland fell ill, Rogers replaced her, and the rest, as they say, is history. The script is as thin as a spider's web, a mere coat-rack upon which to hang several topnotch musical numbers. Fred and Ginger aren't quite as footloose and fancy-free as they were in their @RKO heyday, but they still work together seamlessly. The film's highlights include &"My One and Only Highland Fling," &"You'd Be Hard to Replace," a reprise of &"They Can't Take That Away From Me" (originally performed by Astaire and Rogers in Shall We Dance?), and Oscar Levant's keyboard rendition of &"The Sabre Dance." The film's least memorable moment is the play-within-a-play wherein Rogers, cast as the young Sarah Bernhardt, passionately recites &"The Marseillaise" as an audition piece! ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Barkley of Broadway

1. The Swing Trot Credits [2:04]
2. Where Credit Is Due [4:23]
3. Out In the Cold [4:55]
4. Sabre Dance [3:20]
5. Love and Thrown Objects [4:46]
6. You'd Be Hard to Replace [2:06]
7. The Understudy [3:24]
8. Bouncin' the Blues [2:13]
9. Pancake Portrait [3:31]
10. Mu One and Only Highland Fling [7:41]
11. A Weekend in the Country [2:51]
12. Not Right for the Part [4:49]
13. The Wet and the Unwell [4:45]
14. Battling Barkleys [3:46]
15. Shoes With Wings On [7:52]
16. Completely Resistable [2:38]
17. Misunderstood [1:27]
18. Redirected [2:05]
19. Tchaikovsky Concerto No. 1 [4:41]
20. They Can't Take That Away From Me [7:36]
21. Thanks for the Dance [5:05]
22. Vive Le Dinah [3:03]
23. Too Late? [5:22]
24. Hold the Phone [2:53]
25. You'd Be Hard to Replace Reprise [3:18]
26. A Little Torture [2:22]
27. Manhattan Downbeat [2:16]
28. Cast List [2:54]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: August 16, 2005
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Warner Home Video
  • Length: 109 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Discs: 1
  • Languages: English, French
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • UPC: 012569673793
  • Product ID: 2530815
  • Genre: Musical, Romance

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here