Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Torture Garden

Format: DVD     Release Date: 10/04/2005
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $9.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Creeping Flesh
  • Tales from the Crypt: The Complete First Season [2 Discs]
  • Tales from the Crypt: The Complete Third Season [3 Discs]
  • Man with Nine Lives
  • Donovan's Brain
  • Kolchak: The Night Stalker [3 Discs]
The Torture Garden is an "omnibus" chiller, adapted from four short stories by Robert Bloch (Psycho). Each is introduced by Burgess Meredith, playing a sinister carnival barker by the name of Dr. Diabolo. The doctor's audience consists of five people, four of whom are apprised of their ultimate fates as Diabolo weaves his stories. In "Enoch," a young playboy falls under the spell of a cannibalistic cat. In "Terror Over Hollywood," a famous movie star is revealed to be an android. In "Mr. Steinway," the "villain" is a killer piano. And in "The Man Who Collected Poe," the title character murders another collector over a valuable Poe manuscript--only to receive retribution from ol' Edgar himself. If we told you anything about the fifth person in Meredith's audience, we'd be giving away the ending, wouldn't we now? The individual episodes tend to rise and fall depending upon the strength of their stars. Among those present in Torture Garden are horror-flick regulars Jack Palance, Peter Cushing, Robert Hutton, Michael Ripper and Niall McGinniss. No, this isn't a Hammer Production; it was put together by Hammer's principal British rival of the 1960s, Amicus Films. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Torture Garden

1. Start [:11]
2. The Shears of Fate [8:17]
3. The Buried Cat [8:56]
4. Commanded to Kill [6:57]
5. "Who's Next?" [12:52]
6. Shortcut to Success [5:04]
7. Very Special Hunger [7:00]
8. The Piano [13:16]
9. Requiem [8:07]
10. A Kind of Mania [7:19]
11. Poe's Last Story [6:56]
12. Diablo Revealed [11:00]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: October 04, 2005
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Columbia TriStar
  • Length: 100 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, Japanese
  • UPC: 043396111806
  • Product ID: 2542330
  • Genre: Horror, Thriller

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here