Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Dolly Sisters

Format: DVD     Release Date: 06/13/2006
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $19.98 $14.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Price: $7.99 $5.00

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Meet Me in St. Louis [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • City Slickers [Widescreen]
  • Romeo and Juliet [Widescreen]
  • Out to Sea
  • Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison
  • Letter to Three Wives
The Dolly Sisters is the heavily Hollywoodized biopic of Jennie and Rosie Dolly, Hungarian-born entertainers who took Broadway by storm in the early 1900s. Betty Grable plays Jennie and June Haver plays Rosie; their uncle is the inevitable "funny foreigner" S.Z. Sakall, who manages their career from childhood. Passing an important audition for Oscar Hammerstein, the Dolly girls become international stage headliners, but in so doing they find that their private life is strained. Jennie in particular is perplexed by the dilemma of devoting herself to a career while still finding time to romance handsome composer John Payne. The Dolly girls are separated permanently when Rosie is fatally injured in an auto accident, but Jennie finds lasting happiness with her composer. Despite the pre-World War I ambience of the film, both Grable and Haver show off a lot more skin than would have been permissible in earlier times. But Dolly Sisters producer George Jessel knew what he was doing, and the Technicolor film was a major hit in 1945. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- The Dolly Sisters

1. Main Titles [1:35]
2. In America [3:28]
3. Hungarian Dance No. 5 [1:42]
4. Uncle Latsie's Debt [1:53]
5. The Train From Hoboken [4:15]
6. The Vamp [2:30]
7. I Can't Begin To Tell You [:06]
8. Harry's Apology [2:55]
9. Give Me The Moonlight, Give Me The Girl [1:23]
10. New York City [3:18]
11. A Visit From Oscar Hammerstein [5:31]
12. We Have Been Around [1:28]
13. Carolina In The Morning [:28]
14. Don't Be Too Old Fashioned (Old Fashioned Girl) [1:59]
15. Powder, Lipstick and Rouge [1:43]
16. Goodbyes [1:53]
17. I'm Always Chasing Rainbows [4:18]
18. Enlisted [4:09]
19. The Darktown Strutter's Ball [4:07]
20. In London [4:04]
21. It Must Be Love [5:41]
22. An Important Decision [1:27]
23. Divorce Papers [3:29]
24. The Accident [4:53]
25. Going Home [6:36]
26. The Sidewalks Of New York [:27]
27. Harry and Jenny and Lenora [6:35]
28. I Can't Begin To Tell You- Reprise / End Titles [7:26]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: June 13, 2006
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: 20th Century Fox
  • Length: 114 minutes
  • Sound: dd1, Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, Spanish
  • UPC: 024543244745
  • Product ID: 2582308
  • Genre: Comedy, Musical, Romance

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here