Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Fountainhead [Not Rated]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 11/07/2006
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $19.98 $14.98

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Key Largo
  • Yankee Doodle Dandy [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • On the Waterfront
  • Bambi [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • Miller's Crossing
  • Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
The hero of Ayn Rand's The Fountainhead is Howard Roark (Gary Cooper), a fiercely independent architect obviously patterned after Frank Lloyd Wright. Rather than compromise his ideals, Roark takes menial work as a quarryman to finance his projects. He falls in love with heiress Dominique (Patricia Neal), but ends the relationship when he has the opportunity to construct buildings according to his own wishes. Dominique marries a newspaper tycoon (Raymond Massey) who at first conducts a vitriolic campaign against the "radical" Roark, but eventually becomes his strongest supporter. Upon being given a public-housing contract on the proviso that his plans not be changed in any way, Roark is aghast to learn that his designs will be radically altered. Roark sneaks into the unfinished structure at night, makes certain no one else is around, and dynamites the project into oblivion. At his trial, Roark acts as his own defense, delivering an eloquent paean to individuality. He is acquitted, while the newspaper tycoon, upset that he could offer Roark no help during the trial, kills himself. This clears the way for a final clinch between Roark and Dominique on the skeleton of his latest building project. Ayn Rand's celebration of Objectivism didn't translate very well to film, with Gary Cooper coming off more selfish and petulant than anything else. The Fountainhead's saving graces are the solid direction by King Vidor, the rhapsodic musical score by Max Steiner, and the symbolism inherent in Cooper's manipulation of his power drill when he first lays eyes on Patricia Neal! ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- The Fountainhead

1. Credits [1:02]
2. Uncompromising [6:08]
3. Standing Alone [3:43]
4. My Own Standards [3:22]
5. What the Public Wants [3:25]
6. Wynand's Terms [4:38]
7. Incapable of Feeling [2:00]
8. Drilled Into Her Mind [3:25]
9. Cracked Marble [4:55]
10. Whipped Into a Frenzy [4:28]
11. Enright House Furor [4:47]
12. Gulf Between Us [4:54]
13. Love That Must Wait [4:30]
14. Acceptances and Rejections [4:03]
15. Success Story [1:58]
16. Unbreakable [5:57]
17. Feeling Once Granted [4:53]
18. Cortlandt Homes [5:31]
19. Monumental Mood [3:19]
20. Test of Courage [4:43]
21. Destroy the Sabateur [2:46]
22. Not Afraid Any Longer [4:11]
23. Power Play [4:58]
24. Giving In [4:10]
25. Individual Vs. Collective [5:02]
26. The Verdict.. [3:58]
27. Final Monument [3:24]
28. Love Ascendant [2:05]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: November 07, 2006
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Warner Home Video
  • Length: 112 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Format: Black & White
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, French, Spanish
  • UPC: 012569571624
  • Product ID: 2646524
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here