Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Under the Volcano [2 Discs] [Criterion Collection]

Format: DVD     Release Date: 10/23/2007
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $39.95 $29.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used

Price: $20.97

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Solaris [Criterion Collection] [2 Discs] [Widescreen]
  • Strada [2 Discs] [Criterion Collection]
  • Orson Welles's F for Fake [2 Discs] [Criterion Collection]
  • Jules et Jim [Criterion Collection] [2 Discs]
  • Juliet of the Spirits [Special Edition] [Criterion Collection] [Widescreen]
  • Killers/The Killers [2 Discs] [Special Edition] [Criterion Collection]
A strange, hallucinatory adaptation of the Malcolm Lowry novel of the same name, John Huston's bleak drama is set during the Mexican "Day of the Dead" ceremony in 1939. Albert Finney stars as Geoffrey Firmin, the booze-besotted former British consul to Cuernevarca, who has cut himself off from his loved ones, the better to drink himself to death while surrounded by all manner of skull-and-skeleton decorations. At the urging of his wife Yvonne (Jacqueline Bisset), his half-brother Hugh (Anthony Andrews) goes on a "heart of darkness" search for his missing sibling. Novelist Lowry was himself a suicidal alcoholic, who poured every drop of his embittered philosophy into the Firmin character. If any director could bring Lowry's difficult novel to life, it was Huston, whose own record for drunken self-destruction is the source of legend. (Huston was actually the seventh director to tackle the novel, which had originally been optioned in 1957 by actor Zachary Scott.) Artists contributing to the fascinating Under the Volcano include the brilliant Mexican cinematographer Gabriel Figueroa, screenwriter Guy Gallo, composer Alex North, and director Emilio Fernandez, cast in a significant cameo as a bartender. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Under the Volcano

1. Day of the Dead [6:52]
2. Las Manos de Orlac [9:34]
3. The Virgin of Soledad [9:07]
4. Home Cure [12:12]
5. Hugh [7:06]
6. "No Past, Only Future" [9:27]
7. A Miracle [5:30]
8. Fiesta [8:28]
9. Sinarquistas [3:31]
10. Lost Cause [8:39]
11. "I Choose Hell" [4:54]
12. El Farolito [13:25]
13. William Blackstone [10:18]
14. Closing Credits [3:10]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: October 23, 2007
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Studio: Criterion
  • Length: 112 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs: 2
  • Language: English
  • UPC: 715515026420
  • Product ID: 2699553
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here