Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Playing for Time

Format: DVD     Release Date: 09/07/2010
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $29.95 $22.98

add to wishlist

Notify Me

Price: $12.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Brother Bear [Special Edition] [2 Discs]
  • Jungle Book [40th Anniv.] [2 Disc Platinum]
  • Lady in the Water [Widescreen]
  • Mary Poppins [40th Anniversary Edition] [2 Discs]
  • Aristocats [Special Edition]
  • Band of Brothers [6 Discs] [Widescreen]
The made-for-television Playing for Time debuted on September 30, 1980. Vanessa Redgrave stars as Fania Fenelon, a Jewish cabaret singer working in Paris at the time of the Nazi invasion. Shipped to the Auschwitz death camp in 1944, Fenelon is certain that she is as doomed as all the other prisoners. But SS camp matron Shirley Knight has other plans: she orders Fenelon and several other female inmates with musical ability to form themselves into a prisoner's orchestra. They are to perform for the benefit of those who are herded into the gas chambers--a "humane" means of easing the condemned into the next world. As much as she despises her work, Fenelon and her fellow musicians continue to play, lest they too be exterminated. The film raises several questions about courage, guilt and survival at any price, but the most controversial aspect was the casting of anti-Zionist Vanessa Redgrave as Fania Fenelon. Like many others, the real-life Fenelon (who died in 1988) was vehemently opposed to Redgrave's appearance in the film. Playing for Time won Emmy Awards for Redgrave, scriptwriter Arthur Miller, supporting actress Jane Alexander, and as Outstanding Dramatic Special. Redgrave's husband Tony Richardson was the original director, but he bowed out and was replaced by Joseph Sargent., who himself was replaced by Daniel Mann (the only one credited) ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Disc #1 -- Playing for Time

1. Opening [20:50]
2. Madame Butterfly [31:23]
3. Band Plays On [19:25]
4. I Refuse to See [19:09]
5. Captured [1:59]
6. Funeral [22:57]
7. The Duet [13:12]
8. Come and See [13:14]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: September 07, 2010
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Olive Films
  • Length: 150 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • UPC: 887090026901
  • Product ID: 2928215
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here