Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X


Format: DVD     Release Date: 12/06/2011
Notify Me

Availability: Out of stock

Price: $6.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Secondhand Lions
  • Once Upon a Time in Mexico
  • Encino Man [Widescreen]
  • The Hangover (Rated Single-Disc Edition)
  • X-Men
  • Son-In-Law
Andy Warhol was a phenomenon who warrants a lot of explaining: a completely colorless mega-star celebrity, and a kind of LaBrea Tarpit for a vivid and talented collection of oddballs in the New York scene. He fostered their continued degeneration into weird lifestyles and heavy drug use; and at the same time acted as their mentor, agent, and sponsor. One artist who came to be part of Warhol's "scene" was Jean Michel Basquiat, an antisocial street-bum who went from writing graffiti on alley walls to being the toast of New York City's art world. This film biography chronicles the progression of Basquiat (Jeffrey Wright) and his progression from living in cardboard boxes to penthouses, his romances, his drug use, and his death in 1988 at age 27. Along the way, he never stopped detesting the rich, including art agent Bruno Bischofberger (Dennis Hopper), and he never lost his naivete. Warhol (David Bowie) picks up some of the pieces as Basquiat lurches through the art scene. Cameo appearances by Tatum O'Neal and Courtney Love add spice to this interesting film. ~ Clarke Fountain, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Opening Credits: "Van Gogh Boat" [4:14]
2. Impressions of Gina [5:38]
3. "City's Killin' Me" [3:44]
4. An Illuminating Evening [3:09]
5. Someplace Else [4:25]
6. Fame, Integrity and Beating the Machine [4:36]
7. Painting Over Paintings [5:39]
8. Perceiving Genius [6:14]
9. A Studio for Jean [8:42]
10. Big Pink and Artistic Tires [4:12]
11. "Jean Wake Up!" [3:25]
12. A Night of Notoriety [5:31]
13. "We're Friends!" [1:05]
14. A Primal Expressionist [3:23]
15. Philosophy and Caviar With Warhol [5:42]
16. Searching for Words [5:17]
17. Riding the Wave of Fame [4:30]
18. "Do You Ever Get Sick of It?" [4:59]
19. Losing a Friend [7:22]
20. "Open Up!" [3:54]
21. The Magic Crown [2:50]
22. End Credits [3:14]
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: December 06, 2011
  • MPAA Rating: R
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Platinum Disc, Llc
  • Length: 106 minutes
  • Sound: Dolby Digital 5.1
  • Format: Wide Screen Enhanced (16x9)
  • Discs:
  • Languages: English, French
  • UPC: 096009782399
  • Product ID: 3006740
  • Genre: Drama

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here