Search Our Inventory

Sell your copy

close   X

Jolson Sings Again

Format: DVD     Release Date: 10/21/2003
Buy New

Availability: In Stock

Price: $14.99 $10.98

add to wishlist

Buy Used < Last One

Price: $5.99

add to wishlist

Customers Also Bought

  • Jolson Story
  • Night and Day
  • L.A. Confidential [Widescreen]
  • Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison
  • Gypsy
  • Going My Way/Holiday Inn
This Technicolor follow-up to @Columbia's 1946 blockbuster The Jolson Story again stars Larry Parks as legendary entertainer Al Jolson--and Jolson himself, as Parks' singing voice. The story concentrates on Jolson's tireless activities entertaining the troops during WW II. After VJ day, Jolson finds that his services are no longer required. Fortunately, he stages a spectacular comeback, thanks in great part to the release of The Jolson Story! The film's Pirandellian overtones come to a head when Larry Parks as Jolson meets Larry Parks as Larry Parks. Also returning from The Jolson Story are William Demarest as the title character's manager Steve Martin, Bill Goodwyn as Broadway-producer Tom Baron, and Ludwig Donath and Tamara Shayne as Jolson's old-world parents. Barbara Hale appears as Jolson's wife (his third, though this fact is not dwelled upon), renamed Ellen Clark for the moment, while Myron McCormick plays a composite character based on several Hollywood executives (including, one supposes, @Columbia mogul Harry Cohn). Song highlights include &"After You've Gone", &"You Made Me Love You", &"Let Me Sing and I'm Happy", &"Sonny Boy", &"About a Quarter to Nine", &"April Showers", &"Back in Your Own Backyard", and, of course, &"Mammy". ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Side #1 --

1. Start [:59]
2. "Rock-a-Bye Your Baby" [5:35]
3. "Is It True What They Say About Dixie?" [2:09]
4. "For Me and My Gal" [15:09]
5. "Back in Your Own Backyard" [4:03]
6. "I'm Looking Over a Four Leaf Clover" [:33]
7. "When the Red Red Robin Comes Bob, Bob Bobbin' Along" [:44]
8. "Give My Regards to Broadway" [:27]
9. "Chinatown, My Chinatown" [:36]
10. "I'm Just Wild About Harry" [11:16]
11. "Baby Face" [3:56]
12. "After You've Gone" [12:34]
13. "I Only Have Eyes for You" [5:54]
14. "Sonny Boy" [11:00]
15. "Toot Toot Tootsie Goodbye" [5:23]
16. The Jolson Story [3:34]
17. Film Medley [7:38]
18. Pretty Baby [:31]
19. Carolina in the Morning [1:26]
20. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby (Reprise)
  • Format: DVD
  • Release Date: October 21, 2003
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Region: 1
  • Studio: Columbia TriStar
  • Length: 95 minutes
  • Sound: dd1
  • Discs: 1
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, Japanese
  • UPC: 043396008632
  • Product ID: 2292948
  • Genre: Musical

Order Information

Shipping & Returns

Need Help?

  • New customer? Learn about searching, browsing, and shopping at our store
  • Forgot your password? Click here